Two tickets from paradise: Riomaggiore

Three days in the Italian Riviera was just about the perfect amount of time from my perspective.  Enough to get out and about amongst the vineyards and hike, to relax over pesto and vino in each of the towns, to catch some rays, and to enjoy some great gelati.  In our final day, we had a train to catch back to Roma, but not before a few hours in Riomaggiore, the final town in the set of cinque.

These bad boys make the local economy tick

These bad boys make the local economy tick

A beautiful section of the long and winding road

A beautiful section of the long and winding road

Just checking out the low-hanging fruit

Just checking out the low-hanging fruit

To get the real experience, we made sure to take a ferry around the cliffs to get from Manarola to Riomaggiore, which led to some great views of the peninsula amidst the Mediterranean’s waves.  Once we landed in Riomaggiore, we snagged some final focaccia as our last Cinque Terran meal, and boarded a train set for La Spezia.  At La Spezia, we quickly boarded our fast train back to Rome (in which I got a brief glimpse of the top of the leaning tower of Pisa – good enough for me)!

Summer days on the Ligurian coast

Summer days on the Ligurian coast

A private garden at the temporary digs in Manarola

A private garden at the temporary digs in Manarola

I want this BabYack, though I am not fully aware of its most effective use

I want this BabYack, though I am not fully aware of its most effective use

A wonderful weekend overall, I highly suggest a visit if you are ever in Italy, or better yet in Liguria!

My favorite, and only, mosaic of the weekend in the center of Manarola

My favorite, and only, mosaic of the weekend in the center of Manarola

Getting ready to board the ferry to Riomaggiore

Getting ready to board the ferry to Riomaggiore

I should update folks on where I actually am at this point – I returned to the States on Friday night, and am on my way back to New England after spending a wonderful 24 hours in North Carolina celebrating the wedding of my wonderful friend Catherine.  A beautiful bride, a beautiful service, and a true Tar Heel reception complete with a live blue grass band, shrimp and grits, and ice cream cake.  I wish Catherine and Scott the best in their new marriage!  What a weekend, now it is time to rest up and get ready for the next chapter in the saga of summer ‘013: the wilds of Montana and Glacier National Park!

The final village as seen from the sea

The final village as seen from the sea

Welcome to Riomaggiore

Welcome to Riomaggiore

The bustling streets bracing for a new round of tourists

The bustling streets bracing for a new round of tourists

Leave a Reply

